Provider comparison

How shipping protection providers structure their coverage

Shipping protection apps are built in different ways. Some sell licensed insurance, some buy an insurance policy for themselves, and some describe their product as not insurance. This page summarizes what checkout apps, shipping platforms, carriers and insurers say about themselves in their own published materials, with links so you can check every line.

Provider comparison

What 12 providers say about their own structure

Each row reflects the provider’s own published website, terms or help documentation.

Sources last checked October 28, 2026

About this page: InsureShip is a competitor of the providers listed here. Inclusion on this page is not a claim that any provider is acting unlawfully. Whether a product is insurance is decided by state law and regulators (see package protection rules by state). Providers update their terms, so verify the current version before you decide. If you represent a listed provider and something is out of date, contact us and we will review it promptly.

Insured package next to a phone showing checkout
Comparison of shipping protection providers by structure, insurer named and who funds claims, per each provider's own materials
Provider How it describes its structure Insurer or licensed entity it names Who funds claims, per its own materials
InsureShip Licensed insurance Licensed by the California DOI, #0G55434; licensed nationwide; underwritten by Navigators (The Hartford), rated A+ by AM Best (fact sheet) Navigators-backed policy; claims handled by InsureShip
Cover Genius (XCover) Licensed insurance Cover Genius Insurance Services, LLC; publishes state license numbers Insurance policies
UPS Capital InsureShield Licensed insurance UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc., a licensed insurance producer An authorized insurance company
Shipsurance Licensed insurance CDI license 0E39065; policies issued by a non-admitted insurer Insurance policy; claims paid to the insured
Route Insurance-backed Route Insurance Solutions, LLC; cargo policy via Seg Insurance Ltd.; shopper is not an insured Route’s cargo policy, with Route as named insured
Extend Insurance-backed Policy issued to Extend, Inc. by Overtime Insurance Solutions Corporation, produced through Extend Insurance Agency, Inc.; shopper is not an insured Extend’s cargo policy; shopper is a loss payee
Seel Affiliated insurer Seel Insurance Inc. or Arch Specialty Insurance Company, depending on jurisdiction Seel, per its shopper terms
OrderProtection.com Not stated in terms reviewed None named in the customer terms or help docs we reviewed Merchant receives the greater of a revenue share or claim reimbursements
Navidium Described by provider as not insurance None The merchant, which collects the fees and decides claims
ShipAid Described by provider as not insurance None The merchant (the brand replaces the product)
Corso Described by provider as not insurance None Protection fees fund claims, per Corso’s pricing page
ShipInsure Described by provider as not insurance None named ShipInsure, in coordination with the merchant

ShipInsure, Inc. (shipinsure.io) is a separate company and is not affiliated with InsureShip.

Deep dive

Price, limits and claims for the same 12 providers

What each provider publishes about the shopper’s price, the most it pays, how long shoppers have to file, who decides claims and what the merchant earns.

Sources last checked October 28, 2026
Published shopper price, maximum coverage, claim windows, claim decisions, merchant economics and checkout default for 12 shipping protection providers
Provider Shopper price it publishes Most it pays per order Claim window Who decides claims Merchant economics, in its own materials Checkout default it publishes
InsureShip Averages about $1 per order; not fixed (pricing) Up to $5,000 per shipment Set out in the policy; claims are filed online at claims.insureship.com InsureShip handles claims under the Navigators-backed policy InsureShip pays participating merchants advertising revenue for promoting InsureShip insurance at checkout. Advertising revenue varies with advertiser quality. InsureShip recommends, and configures by default, an opt-in (unchecked) offer
Route No shopper price published; describes “consumer funded” pricing $5,000 per shipment; $2,500 if it contains a laptop, tablet, phone or watch Lost: 7 to 30 days after the last tracking checkpoint. Marked delivered but missing: within 30 days. Other claims: within 365 days of purchase The underwriter or Route; remedy is replacement, repair or refund $0 a month on its standard plan, with a merchant incentive program Pricing page describes a shopper opt-in; terms call the election optional
Extend Example widget shows $2.99; no price schedule Limit varies by retailer (English guide); the French guide lists US$10,000 Damage: 30 days after delivery (English guide; French says 60). Lost or stolen: from 5 days after the estimated delivery date Extend administers claims for the retailer; usually a gift card, repair or replacement Says Extend takes on all liability, including replacement and shipping costs; Extend may earn commission Not published
Seel Fee shown at checkout; no figures published Order value, within policy limits of $5,000 per package ($2,500 for electronics) FAQ: theft within 7 days of delivery. Policy text: damage within 15 days of delivery; non-delivery within 30 days of shipment (60 international) Seel, at its discretion; terms describe refunds by gift card Says merchants don’t pay for the coverage itself Says the offer is always optional and can be removed from the cart
OrderProtection.com Typically 2–3% of cart value when customers pay Lesser of $5,000 or the amount the shopper paid Written notice within 45 days of discovering the problem OrderProtection handles claims; reship or refund, with the merchant reimbursed for approved claims Merchant keeps a share of each premium. Help docs: the greater of that share or claim reimbursements; pricing page: both, netted against fees Merchant picks opt-in or opt-out
Navidium Merchant sets the fee (percentage, flat or tiered) Set by the merchant Not published The merchant, which reships or refunds Merchant keeps 100% of fees; app is free to 50 orders, then $29.99–$99.99 a month Not published
ShipAid Merchant sets the fee; its calculator shows 1.5% to 4% Not published Not published The merchant; the brand replaces the product ShipAid takes 9–15% of program revenue; the merchant keeps 85–91%; no monthly fee Shopper is offered the option to add it
Corso Not published; merchants can test rates Lesser of full replacement or $1,000 of declared value Within 60 days of purchase Corso, at its sole discretion; reorder, refund or denial Corso charges a percentage of the revenue the platform generates; $0 fixed fees; fees fund claims Checkout+ lets the shopper opt out with a tap; Shipping+ builds the price into the shipping rate
ShipInsure From $0.98, or a percentage of the order if greater $5,000 per order Delivered but not received: 14 days. Lost: 7 business days to 30 days after last scan. Damaged: 14 days ShipInsure, in coordination with the merchant; reorder or refund Free to install; merchant controls pricing and revenue share Merchant controls the presentation; shopper can decline in the cart
Cover Genius (XCover) Set through each partner program Varies by program; one published program (ShipRush) lists $10,000 per parcel Varies by program; ShipRush program: 10 days after a delivered scan XCover handles claims end to end Partners can capture protection revenue; Cover Genius is compensated by its underwriting partners Not published
UPS Capital InsureShield Quote only Shopify app: $10,000 per express shipment; $5,000 for USPS and checkout protection Not published The insurer; claims paid in days, per UPS Capital Merchant buys coverage and can let customers elect package protection Lets customers elect protection; no default published
Shipsurance Shipper coverage, not a shopper add-on; own rates by quote Not published; covers actual value plus insured shipping cost Within 120 days of the ship date Shipsurance’s claims department Shipper pays; rates depend on volume, commodity and claims history Not applicable

Sources: Route insurance · Route terms · Route pricing · Extend guide · Extend shipping protection · Seel FAQ · Seel terms · OrderProtection pricing · OrderProtection terms · OrderProtection payouts · OrderProtection opt-in/opt-out · OrderProtection shipping protection · Navidium pricing · ShipAid pricing · Corso terms · Corso pricing · Corso shipping protection · ShipInsure terms · ShipInsure cost · Cover Genius · ShipRush XCover summary · InsureShield coverage · Shipsurance claims · Shipsurance FAQ

“Not published” means we did not find it in the provider’s materials. Where a provider’s own pages disagree, both figures are shown.

More checkout apps

Other shipping protection apps merchants ask about

Eight more checkout protection apps, plus groups of smaller apps where the merchant runs the protection itself.

Sources last checked October 28, 2026
Structure, insurer named, claim funding, price and limits for eight more shipping protection apps, per each app's own materials
App How it describes its structure Insurer or licensed entity it names Who funds claims, per its own materials Price and limits it publishes Claim window
AfterShip Protection Insurance-backed “Powered by InsureShield”; terms name UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc. as the licensed producer; insurer not named The insurer pays claims to the merchant; AfterShip nets them against the merchant’s premiums monthly, and the merchant pays the shopper About 1.5% of the protected value; up to $10,000 per order; merchant chooses who pays Within 90 days of delivery
CWILL Shipping Protection (formerly ParcelPanel) Affiliated insurer Powered by Seel; terms name Seel Insurance, Inc (NAIC #17773) and Seel Insurance Services, Inc. The insurer pays the shopper directly 2% of order value (minimum 1.28 in store currency), set by Seel; Seel’s terms list $5,000 per package Damage and porch theft: 7 days after delivery. Loss: closes 90 days after the order
Redo Described by provider as not insurance Standard feature: none. Optional Shipsurance program: certificate names Voyager Indemnity Insurance, a non-admitted insurer Standard feature: the merchant, from collected fees. Shipsurance option: the policy, with Redo as policyholder Merchant sets the fee. Shipsurance option: up to $5,000 per package Standard: set by the merchant. Shipsurance option: within 120 days of shipment
Loop Protection Described by provider as not insurance Self-managed mode: none. Partner mode: Seel, Inc. Self-managed: the merchant. Partner mode: Seel covers the refund Merchant-configured “small fee”; no figures or limit published Not published
Onward (Checkout+) Described by provider as not insurance Core service: none. Optional Shipsurance coverage names Voyager Indemnity Insurance Not stated in its terms; its app listing refers to consumer-paid premiums Percentage pricing; lesser of replacement or $5,000 of declared value Within 60 days of purchase
SavedBy Described by provider as not insurance None Its app listing says claims are paid from SavedBy’s wallet; its merchant terms say the merchant pays refunds and reorders, with a SavedBy backstop up to $5,000 Fee based on order value; covers item cost only Lost: 60 days after last tracking update. Delivered but not received: 30 days. Damaged: 10 days
Xcotton Post Purchase Guard Not stated in terms reviewed Calls itself insurance-backed; no insurer named in the materials we reviewed Not stated Free app; no limit published Listing mentions protection for up to 90 days
Captain Shipping Protection Described by provider as not insurance None The merchant, which keeps the fees and sets the claim policy Merchant sets the price; plans $11 or $49 a month plus a 3.99% fee Set by the merchant

Sources: AfterShip Protection · AfterShip terms · AfterShip FAQ · CWILL overview · CWILL / Seel terms · Redo terms · Redo help · Redo package protection FAQ · Shipsurance for Redo · Loop Protection · Loop terms · Onward terms · Shipsurance for Onward · SavedBy listing · SavedBy merchant terms · SavedBy policies · Xcotton listing · Xcotton site · Captain listing · Captain FAQ

Apps where the merchant runs the protection

These Shopify apps provide a checkout widget and claims tools. In each listing, the merchant sets the price, keeps the fee and settles claims, and no insurer is named. Coverage limits and claim windows are set by the merchant.

Merchant-run shipping protection apps on Shopify, per each app's listing
App What its listing says about insurance Merchant economics, in its listing App cost
Shipcheck Says it is not an insurance provider Merchant keeps 100% of protection revenue Free (25 orders) to $39.95 a month
Sam Shipping Protection Says it is not an insurance provider Merchant keeps 100% of revenue, with no revenue sharing Free to $29 a month
Insureful Says it is not an insurance company No revenue sharing Free (30 orders) to $29.99 a month
Simply Shipping Protection Not stated; says it works without third parties Free tier charges 10% of protection revenue Free to $24.99 a month plus usage fees
Easy Shipping Protection Not stated Additional revenue from protected orders Free to $39 a month
ShipProtect Not stated; calls itself in-house protection Merchant retains 100% of collected fees $9.99 a month
ShipGuard Not stated; calls itself in-house order protection Platform fee per protected order $0.19 to $0.49 per protected order

Sources (Shopify App Store listings): Shipcheck · Sam · Insureful · Simply · Easy Shipping Protection · ShipProtect · ShipGuard

Cart apps with a protection toggle

Some cart-drawer and upsell apps include a “shipping protection” add-on. Upcart’s documentation says Upcart does not provide shipping protection services and that the merchant is responsible for fulfilling it. Kaching, AOV.ai, Amp Slide Cart and Rapid Cart list a protection toggle, but their materials do not say who provides the protection. Before you turn one on, confirm who pays when a protected package is lost.

Sources: Upcart docs · Kaching · AOV.ai · Amp Slide Cart · Rapid Cart

Shipping platforms

Insurance sold with shipping labels and fulfillment

Label software, shipping apps and fulfillment companies often sell coverage when you buy a label. This is usually coverage the merchant buys for its own shipments, not a fee the shopper pays at checkout.

Sources last checked October 28, 2026

Disclosure: Easyship’s insurance terms name InsureShip (Online Shipping Insurance Services, Inc.) as the administrator and claims handler for Easyship Insurance. That row is highlighted below.

Shipping insurance offered by shipping platforms, label software and fulfillment companies, per each company's own materials
Platform How its materials describe the structure Insurer, producer or administrator it names Published price Most it pays per package Claim window
Shippo (XCover) Insurance-backed XCover, owned by Cover Genius; Shippo’s FAQ lists Lloyd’s, Generali, Sompo, CNA, Swiss Re and Munich Re as backers 1.25% of insured value domestic; 1.50% cross-border Item value plus declared shipping cost; no dollar cap in its help center Delivered but not received: 10 days after the delivery scan. Not delivered: 30 days from ship date (60 international)
ShipStation, US (ParcelGuard) Not stated in materials reviewed ParcelGuard; ShipStation calls it discounted shipping insurance; no underwriter named on the pages we could read $0.99 to $1.39 per $100 of coverage $10,000 Not published on ShipStation’s pages
ShipStation, outside the US (XCover) Insurance-backed Total Shipping Protection powered by XCover; underwriter not named on ShipStation’s pages From 1.1% domestic and 1.5% international (varies by country) £10,000 or €10,000 Not published on ShipStation’s pages
EasyPost Not stated in materials reviewed EasyPost calls it in-house coverage; no underwriter named, including in its insurance addendum 1% of package value ($1 per $100) in its help center and legal terms $5,000; up to $15,000 on custom plans Damage: 30 days from label creation. Domestic loss: 15 to 60 days
Pirate Ship (InsureShield) Insurance-backed InsureShield through UPS Capital Insurance Agency; underwritten by an insurer it does not name $1 per $100 of declared value UPS $10,000; USPS $5,000; international $2,500 Concealed loss or damage: 30 days after delivery. Other claims: 9 months
Stamps.com (ParcelGuard) Not stated in materials reviewed ParcelGuard; no underwriter named on Stamps.com Calculated at checkout; not listed Up to $10,000 Not published on Stamps.com
Shopify Shipping Not stated in materials reviewed Shipsurance is the insurance administrator; underwriter not named on Shopify’s page $0.89 per $100 domestic; $1.29 international; up to $200 included on some plans using Shopify Payments $5,000 About 24 hours after shipping up to 120 days from ship date
Ordoro Not stated in materials reviewed Partners with Shipsurance; underwriter not named $0.79 to $0.99 per $100 $5,000 for most services ($1,000 for some) Not published
Ship.com Not stated in materials reviewed Partners with Shipsurance; underwriter not named 0.75% of package value $2,000 Within 30 days
Easyship Insurance-backed Administered by InsureShip (license 0G55434); Easyship says coverage is backed by Navigators and The Hartford From 1% domestic and 1.5% international; $0.49 minimum $10,000 per shipment Within 90 days of the ship date
Stord Insurance-backed The Continental Insurance Company; administered by U-PIC Insurance Services, Inc. (CA #0E61972); the merchant is the insured Set in the merchant’s agreement; not listed Value reported at checkout Not published
ShipMonk (MonkProtect) Not stated in materials reviewed None named; ShipMonk calls it shipping protection and says it reimburses lost protected orders Shopper price from $0.87 per order; merchant pricing by quote Not published Not published
Sendle Not stated in materials reviewed None named; Sendle describes its own included “cover” Included with the label US: $100 (Saver) or $150 (Preferred), plus delivery cost Not published for the US
ShipBob Carrier or platform liability None; ShipBob files carrier claims for merchants and recommends brands buy their own insurance No charge to file carrier claims Up to $100 of retail value, per its blog Not published

Sources: Shippo insurance · Shippo FAQ · ShipStation ParcelGuard · ShipStation XCover · ShipStation insurance docs · EasyPost legal · EasyPost help · EasyPost comparison · Pirate Ship InsureShield terms · Pirate Ship limits · Stamps.com · Shopify Shipping · Ordoro · Ship.com · Easyship terms · Easyship help · Stord terms · Stord customer terms · ShipMonk · Sendle · ShipBob

“Not stated in materials reviewed” means the company’s pages did not name an insurer or describe the structure. It is not a finding that a product is uninsured. Some cart platforms, such as Shift4Shop and the Trustio app on Wix, also let merchants add a checkout fee with no insurer named.

Carriers and insurers

What carriers include, and other licensed shipping insurers

Every major carrier includes some liability, but UPS and FedEx say their declared value is not insurance, and USPS does not pay for loss after delivery.

Sources last checked October 28, 2026
Coverage included by USPS, UPS, FedEx and DHL Express, per each carrier's own terms
Carrier What the carrier calls it Included at no extra cost Most you can add Price to add Claim window Worth knowing
USPS Insurance Up to $100 on Priority Mail, Priority Mail Express and Ground Advantage $5,000 (Registered Mail up to $50,000) Insured Mail starts at $2.80 Lost: 15 to 60 days after mailing. Damage: no later than 60 days USPS does not pay for loss or damage that occurs after delivery
UPS Declared value; UPS says it is not insurance $100 per package $50,000 per package ($70,000 for some Next Day Air); lower caps for drop-offs and Shipper Release $4.80 for $100.01–$300, then $1.60 per $100 of total value (2025 rate guide) Notice within 60 days of delivery; file within 9 months “Delivery” includes driver-release drop-offs without a signature
FedEx Declared value; FedEx says it is not shipping insurance $100 Set in the FedEx Service Guide Charged only on value above $100; rates in the Service Guide Damage: 60 days from ship date. Lost: 9 months You must show FedEx was at fault
DHL Express (US) Shipment Value Protection Domestic: lesser of $100 or actual value Over $500,000 needs DHL approval $11.55 minimum for up to $700, then $1.65 per $100 30 days from when DHL accepted the shipment Does not cover delay or indirect loss

Sources: USPS insurance · USPS DMM 503 · USPS DMM 609 · UPS Tariff/Terms · UPS Daily Rates · FedEx declared value · FedEx claims · DHL protection options · DHL domestic US terms

Licensed shipping insurers and producers

These companies sell shipping insurance to merchants and shippers. Each row uses the company’s own disclosures.

Licensed shipping insurers and producers by license, underwriter, pricing, limits and claim window, per each company's own materials
Company Structure License it publishes Underwriter it names Published price Most it pays per package Claim window
InsureShip Licensed insurance California DOI #0G55434; licensed nationwide Navigators (The Hartford), rated A+ by AM Best Averages about $1 per order; not fixed $5,000 per shipment Set out in the policy; filed online
U-PIC Licensed insurance U-PIC Insurance Services, Inc., #0E61972 Continental Casualty Company (US) Per $100 by carrier, e.g. $0.65 UPS domestic, $1.50 USPS domestic Online purchases: $2,000 ($1,500 USPS) Within 90 days of the ship date
Shipsurance Licensed insurance CDI #0E39065; describes itself as an Assurant company Not named; says a non-admitted, “A” rated insurer By quote Not published Within 120 days of the ship date
UPS Capital InsureShield Licensed insurance UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc., a licensed producer; no number published Not named; “an authorized insurance company” By quote $5,000 to $100,000 per package, depending on product Not published
Parcel Pro (UPS Capital) Licensed insurance Parcel Pro, Inc., a licensed producer; no number published Not named; “an authorized insurance company” Not published Not published; sold for high-value shipments Not published
Cover Genius (XCover) Licensed insurance Cover Genius Insurance Services, LLC; state numbers published (e.g. CA 6000406) Varies by program; ShipRush program names Continental Insurance Company Set by each partner ShipRush program: $10,000 per parcel ($1,000 for theft after a delivered scan) ShipRush program: 10 days after a delivered scan

Sources: U-PIC US coverage · U-PIC rates · Shipsurance about · Shipsurance FAQ · InsureShield disclosure · InsureShield coverage · Parcel Pro disclosure · Cover Genius licenses · ShipRush XCover summary · Navigators fact sheet

Provider details

In each provider’s own materials

Summaries of each provider’s published terms, with links to the source.

Package protected by a shipping insurance shield in a warehouse

Route

Insurance-backed
  • Route’s terms say its protection is not intended to insure the shopper directly, and that the shopper is not an insured under the Route policy.
  • Route states that it holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states.
  • Its insurance page describes a Marine Open Cargo Policy for Route App, Inc., Jan 1, 2026 to Jan 1, 2027, secured through Artex Risk Solutions and Seg Insurance Ltd.

Sources: Route terms · Route insurance · Route compliance

Extend

Insurance-backed
  • Extend says shipments are insured under a cargo policy issued to Extend, Inc. by Overtime Insurance Solutions Corporation and produced through Extend Insurance Agency, Inc. The shopper is a loss payee, not an insured.

Source: Extend shipping protection guide

Seel

Affiliated insurer
  • Seel says insurance benefits are provided by Seel Insurance Inc. or Arch Specialty Insurance Company, administered by Seel Insurance Services, Inc., depending on jurisdiction and product.
  • Seel’s shopper terms identify Seel as the sole payor of payouts.

Sources: Seel FAQ · Seel shopper terms

OrderProtection.com

Not stated in terms reviewed
  • Its help documentation says the protection fees customers pay go to the merchant’s store, and that each month the merchant receives the greater of its contracted revenue share or approved claim reimbursements.
  • We did not find an insurer named in the customer terms or help documentation we reviewed.

Sources: Dashboard docs · How payouts work

Navidium

Described by provider as not insurance
  • Navidium describes itself as a software company, not an insurance company.
  • Its site says merchants collect and keep the fees, decide whether to approve claims, and reship or refund themselves.

Source: Navidium shipping protection page

ShipAid

Described by provider as not insurance
  • ShipAid’s terms say it does not provide insurance, and that the brand the shopper ordered from replaces the product.
  • ShipAid’s pricing page says it takes 9% to 15% of program revenue, depending on order volume, and the merchant keeps 85% to 91%. Merchants decide how to resolve each claim.

Sources: ShipAid terms · ShipAid pricing

Corso

Described by provider as not insurance
  • Corso’s terms say its value coverage, including shipping protection, is not insurance of any kind.
  • Claims are decided at the company’s discretion, up to $1,000 of declared value, and protection fees fund claims and return labels.

Sources: Corso terms · Corso pricing

ShipInsure

Described by provider as not insurance
  • ShipInsure’s terms say its shipping protection is not insurance sold to the shopper by ShipInsure.
  • Remedies are determined by ShipInsure in coordination with the merchant, up to $5,000 per order. Its homepage promotes a merchant-set revenue share.

Sources: ShipInsure terms · ShipInsure homepage

AfterShip Protection

Insurance-backed
  • AfterShip says its protection is powered by InsureShield, and its terms name UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc. as the licensed insurance producer.
  • Its terms say AfterShip does not provide insurance services and that coverage is sold only by the licensed producer. Claim payments go to the merchant, which must pay the shopper.

Sources: AfterShip Protection · AfterShip terms

Redo

Described by provider as not insurance
  • Redo’s merchant terms say Redo provides no package-protection coverage itself in its standard feature, and that the merchant self-insures or obtains coverage. Its help center says Redo is not an insurance company.
  • The same terms describe an optional Shipsurance program, whose certificate names Redo as policyholder and Voyager Indemnity Insurance as a non-admitted insurer.

Sources: Redo terms · Redo help · Shipsurance for Redo

Cover Genius, UPS Capital InsureShield, Shipsurance

Licensed insurance
  • Cover Genius says US policies are provided by Cover Genius Insurance Services, LLC, and publishes state license numbers.
  • InsureShield is offered through UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc., a licensed insurance producer.
  • Shipsurance, which describes itself as an Assurant company, is licensed by the California DOI (0E39065), with policies issued by a non-admitted insurer.

Sources: Cover Genius · InsureShield · Shipsurance

Carrier declared value

Carrier liability
  • UPS’s terms say declaring a value over $100 is not any form of insurance. FedEx says declared value is not shipping insurance.
  • USPS calls its coverage insurance, but its rules say it does not pay for loss or damage that occurs after delivery.

Sources: UPS Tariff/Terms · FedEx declared value · USPS DMM 609

Litigation

Litigation involving shipping protection fees

Several lawsuits have challenged how shipping protection fees are presented at checkout, such as pre-selected boxes and disclosure. Every claim below is an allegation unless a court has ruled. None is a finding that any provider broke the law. Status as of October 28, 2026.

Reviewing shipping paperwork with a courier
  1. Leonard v. AfterShip, Inc.

    D. Md. Putative class action concerning AfterShip Protection fees at checkout. Filed September 2026; no substantive rulings yet.

    Pending · allegations only Docket
  2. Biada v. Route App, Inc. & Route Insurance Solutions

    D. Utah, removed from state court. An October 2026 court order describes the plaintiffs as asserting that Route conducts an insurance business without authorization, and states that the merits remain undecided. Route has moved to compel arbitration. Route states that it holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states and publishes its licensed producer, Route Insurance Solutions, LLC, and a cargo policy through Seg Insurance Ltd.

    Pending · allegations only Docket
  3. Mertson v. Route App, Inc.

    N.D.N.Y. Putative class action under New York consumer law over a pre-selected shipping protection toggle at checkout. Route moved to dismiss in October 2026. Route has not been found liable. Route states that it holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states and publishes its licensed producer and cargo policy (see the Route details above).

    Pending · motion to dismiss filed · allegations only Docket
  4. Mickey v. Seel, Inc.

    N.D. Cal. Alleged Seel sold shipping insurance in California without being an admitted insurer.

    Dismissed by the plaintiff April 2026 · no ruling on the merits Docket
  5. Jalad v. Seel, Inc.

    N.D. Cal. Putative class action. The court ruled on a motion to compel in October 2026, and that ruling has been appealed to the Ninth Circuit.

    Pending · on appeal · allegations only Docket
  6. Carlos v. ShipInsure, Inc.

    N.D. Cal. Alleged a checkout protection fee was added without adequate disclosure. ShipInsure, Inc. (shipinsure.io) is not affiliated with InsureShip.

    Dismissed by the plaintiff Feb 2026 · no ruling on the merits Docket
  7. Cantore & Conley v. Route App, Inc.

    N.D. Ill. Alleges a pre-selected package protection fee violated Illinois and California consumer law. In May 2026 the court dismissed one claim and let the others proceed at the pleading stage, which is not a finding of liability. Route states that it holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states.

    Pending · allegations only Docket
  8. Barz v. Corso Commerce, LLC & BrüMate, Inc.

    C.D. Cal. A court order describes the claims as alleged deceptive practices involving shipping protection fees added automatically to purchases. The merchant, BrüMate, was a co-defendant.

    Closed Nov 2025 · dismissed after the plaintiff’s individual claims settled · no class certified · no ruling on the merits Docket

Whichever provider you use, make the offer clearly optional and disclose what the shopper is buying.

Provider FAQs

Questions about specific providers

Answers restate each provider’s own published terms.

Is Route shipping protection insurance?

Route’s terms say Route Insurance Solutions, LLC procures a cargo policy naming Route as the insured, and that shoppers are not insureds under it. Route states it holds Department of Insurance authorization in all 50 states. Review Route’s current terms directly.

Is Navidium shipping protection insurance?

Navidium says it is not an insurance company. Its site says merchants collect the fees, decide claims, and reship or refund themselves. Review Navidium’s current terms directly.

Is Corso package protection insurance?

Corso’s terms say its value coverage, including shipping protection, is not insurance, and that claim decisions are at the company’s discretion. Review Corso’s current terms directly.

Is AfterShip Protection insurance?

AfterShip says its protection is powered by InsureShield, and its terms name UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc. as the licensed insurance producer. AfterShip’s terms say AfterShip does not provide insurance services and that coverage is sold only by the licensed producer. Claim payments go to the merchant, which must then pay the shopper. Review AfterShip’s current terms directly.

Is carrier declared value the same as shipping insurance?

No, according to the carriers. UPS’s terms say declaring a value over $100 is not any form of insurance, and FedEx says declared value is not shipping insurance. Both raise the carrier’s liability, and both include $100 at no extra cost.

Does USPS insurance cover porch theft?

USPS rules say it does not pay for loss or damage that occurs after delivery. Priority Mail, Priority Mail Express and Ground Advantage include up to $100 of insurance for problems before delivery.

How is InsureShip connected to Easyship?

Easyship’s insurance terms name InsureShip as the administrator and claims handler for Easyship Insurance. We have highlighted Easyship in the shipping platforms table so readers can see that relationship.

Is this page legal advice?

No. This page provides general information and is not legal advice. Insurance regulation varies by state and depends on specific facts. Provider descriptions are based on each provider’s published materials as of the date shown.

Questions to ask any provider

Verify what stands behind your checkout fee.

Whichever provider you use, ask for the name of its insurer, proof of licenses in your states, and its written claim terms.

Questions?hello@insureship.com1-866-701-3654

This page provides general information and is not legal advice. Insurance regulation varies by state and depends on specific facts. Provider, platform and carrier descriptions are based on each company’s published materials as of October 28, 2026. InsureShip is a competitor of the providers listed, and administers Easyship Insurance. InsureShip’s license (California DOI #0G55434) can be verified with the California Department of Insurance.